Journals-the fun!

Early this morning, I was thinking, which is hard to do when it is “early”. As I was going up and down on the elliptical at the gym about journals. At the same time, I was also reading a book and staring at the ceiling in my “own private Idaho”. I go to the gym at the crack of dawn, so that I am not fully awake to realize that I am actually working out…I really do look forward to this time everyday. It allows me to slowly wake up to life without feeling like I am in a hurry each day. And even better, because I am a self-professed book lover, I use the time to read away!
 

Back to journals though, there are so many reasons to own a journal or three, in fact I think I have “five” separate journals. They all participate in my life in a different way….and to be honest, I don’t write in them everyday. I’d like to do so daily, but sometimes I am just not in the mood. I would rather do what I am in the mood to do, instead of making journal writing a chore. And therefore, some of the journals sit for days, weeks or even months. Sometimes I end up writing on sticky notes or I’ll take a notepad to write one of several things that is on my mind or in my heart. And if no paper is available, I’ll make a note on my phone to be later transferred into one of my journals.

I advise my clients to utilize journals too. Not as a task, but for a variety of reasons. First off, a journal isn’t just a journal. Sure, you can keep a daily record of events in your life from losing a pound to the weather and how it affected your daily run. The reason I have 5 different journals is to capture different elements to my life in a focused manner. Instead of having a mish-mosh of thoughts, feelings, desires and inspiration–I let having separate journals serve the purpose of organization and intention. A journal doesn’t have to be a traditional journal either. One of mine is not a traditional “JOURNAL”; its a sketchbook, which acts as a journal too, whether I am pasting pictures of things I want in my life on its pages or drawing how I feel–my sketchbook is something I cherish.

Another one of my journals (which I ask my clients to also keep) is a manifestation journal. Yup, I write all the things I want to manifest inside of this little book. Big or small things, I feel it has a magical quality, because I believe the words I am writing as the ink flows from my pen to paper. At the beginning of the book, I have my own little statement about its contents. Some people may choose to call it a prayer journal, where they have written their prayers into for them to be answered. Either way–its definitely a high recommendation on my list, because it is a happy little book.

My abundance journal is combined with my gratitude (appreciation) journal. I like to look at what I am fortunate to have in my life and how abundantly I am provided for in terms of appreciation. It gives me a sense of gratitude that I am here and alive, so why not enjoy what I got right now?! Of course, there is always the desire for things I do not have, but I believe they will come in their own time.

My journal of favorite quotes and things I want to remember that I have heard or seen is another goodie! Whenever I see something that catches my eye, read something inspiring or hear something beautiful, I scratch it down in this journal. I don’t know about you, but me….I forget more than I remember if I am left to my own grey matter for retention. Haha!

And lastly, I have the journal that I write in when I am struggling with something. I know that if I cannot speak about it with someone, the next best thing is to write about it. Seems that it gives me a whole new perspective or at the very least, I feel lighter after writing in it–its almost automatic for me as I write, pages get filled up in mere minutes. And then I may keep them for awhile or go in and gently tear them out of the journal. It’s a way to vent at times and for me, I don’t need to revisit those words on the pages. If they are still inside me then they will come up again. I used to hold on to journals for years—then I realized it felt like such a heavy weight, I started tossing them. I had held onto them with the thought, I would want to read them over again to see how far I have come in my own personal growth or to possibly get a better understanding of myself. Instead, like I said, they were more of a heavy weight; a tool I used at a certain time in my life to put all the ugliness I felt inside onto the outside. It is cathartic to write it, but it is even better to let go of it!

There are many more reasons to start a journal. I used to keep journals for all three of my kids when they were growing up–so we could remember the events in their young lives. I have friends who like to keep dream journals, tracking their dreams, looking for symbols and meaning. I have also had a synchronicity journal, one in which I recorded all happenings in m life of synchronicity. For me, having so many journals is great, each has its own home inside of me. I’d love to hear feedback on how you utilize a journal or what a difference a journal has made in your life.

Leave a Reply

